30th. Annual Academy Awards (Oscars 1957)

Mejor película del año
* The Bridge on the River Kwai — Sam Spiegel, productor
Peyton Place — Jerry Wald, productor
Sayonara — William Goetz, productor
12 Angry Men — Henry Fonda and Reginald Rose, productores
Witness for the Prosecution — Arthur Hornblow, Jr., productor

Mejor película de lengua extranjera
The Devil Came at Night — West Germany
Gates of Paris — France
Mother India — India
* The Nights of Cabiria — Italy
Nine Lives — Norway

Mejor dirección
* The Bridge on the River Kwai — David Lean
Peyton Place — Mark Robson
Sayonara — Joshua Logan
12 Angry Men — Sidney Lumet
Witness for the Prosecution — Billy Wilder

Mejor actriz
Deborah Kerr — Heaven Knows, Mr. Allison [Sister Angela]
Anna Magnani — Wild Is the Wind [Gioia]
Elizabeth Taylor — Raintree County [Susanna Drake]
Lana Turner — Peyton Place [Constance MacKenzie]
* Joanne Woodward — The Three Faces of Eve [Eve White/Eve Black/Jane]

Mejor actor
Marlon Brando — Sayonara [Major Lloyd Gruver]
Anthony Franciosa — A Hatful of Rain [Polo]
* Alec Guinness — The Bridge on the River Kwai [Colonel Nicholson]
Charles Laughton — Witness for the Prosecution [Sir Wilfrid Robarts]
Anthony Quinn — Wild Is the Wind [Gino]

Mejor actriz en un papel de reparto
Carolyn Jones — The Bachelor Party [The Existentialist]
Elsa Lanchester — Witness for the Prosecution [Miss Plimsoll]
Hope Lange — Peyton Place [Selena Cross]
* Miyoshi Umeki — Sayonara [Katsumi]
Diane Varsi — Peyton Place [Allison MacKenzie]

Mejor actor en un papel de reparto
* Red Buttons — Sayonara [Joe Kelly]
Vittorio De Sica — A Farewell to Arms [Major Alessandro Rinaldi]
Sessue Hayakawa — The Bridge on the River Kwai [Saito]
Arthur Kennedy — Peyton Place [Lucas Cross]
Russ Tamblyn — Peyton Place [Norman Page]

Mejor guión escrito directamente para la pantalla
* Designing Woman — George Wells
Funny Face — Leonard Gershe
Man of a Thousand Faces — Story by Ralph Wheelwright; Screenplay by R. Wright Campbell, Ivan Goff, Ben Roberts
The Tin Star — Story by Barney Slater, Joel Kane; Screenplay by Dudley Nichols
Vitelloni — Story by Federico Fellini, Ennio Flaiano, Tullio Pinelli; Screenplay by Federico Fellini, Ennio Flaiano

Mejor guión basado en material de otro medio
* The Bridge on the River Kwai — Michael Wilson, Carl Foreman, Pierre Boulle [NOTE: Though Pierre Boulle received official screen credit, it was commonly known that blacklisted writers, Michael Wilson and Carl Foreman, wrote the screenplay based on Mr. Boulle's novel (translated from the French). The Board of Governors, on December 11, 1984, voted posthumous Oscars to Wilson and Foreman and Academy records have been updated.]
Heaven Knows, Mr. Allison — John Lee Mahin, John Huston
Peyton Place — John Michael Hayes
Sayonara — Paul Osborn
12 Angry Men — Reginald Rose

Mejor música (partitura)
An Affair To Remember — Hugo Friedhofer
Boy on a Dolphin — Hugo Friedhofer
* The Bridge on the River Kwai — Malcolm Arnold
Perri — Paul Smith
Raintree County — Johnny Green

Mejor música (canción)
‘An Affair To Remember’ de An Affair To Remember — Música de Harry Warren; letras de Harold Adamson and Leo McCarey
* ‘All The Way’ de The Joker Is Wild — Música de James Van Heusen; letras de Sammy Cahn
‘April Love’ de April Love — Música de Sammy Fain; letras de Paul Francis Webster
‘Tammy’ de Tammy and the Bachelor — Música y letras de Ray Evans and Jay Livingston
‘Wild Is the Wind’ de Wild Is the Wind — Música de Dimitri Tiomkin; letras de Ned Washington

Mejor fotografía
An Affair To Remember — Milton Krasner
* The Bridge on the River Kwai — Jack Hildyard
Funny Face — Ray June
Peyton Place — William Mellor
Sayonara — Ellsworth Fredricks

Mejor dirección artística
Funny Face — Dirección artística de Hal Pereira, George W. Davis; decorados de Sam Comer, Ray Moyer
Les Girls — Dirección artística de William A. Horning, Gene Allen; decorados de Edwin B. Willis, Richard Pefferle
Pal Joey — Dirección artística de Walter Holscher; decorados de William Kiernan, Louis Diage
Raintree County — Dirección artística de William A. Horning, Urie McCleary; decorados de Edwin B. Willis, Hugh Hunt
* Sayonara — Dirección artística de Ted Haworth; decorados de Robert Priestley

Mejor diseño de vestuario
An Affair To Remember — Charles LeMaire
Funny Face — Edith Head, Hubert de Givenchy
* Les Girls — Orry-Kelly
Pal Joey — Jean Louis
Raintree County — Walter Plunkett

Mejor montaje
* The Bridge on the River Kwai — Peter Taylor
Gunfight at the O.K. Corral — Warren Low
Pal Joey — Viola Lawrence, Jerome Thoms
Sayonara — Arthur P. Schmidt, Philip W. Anderson
Witness for the Prosecution — Daniel Mandell

Mejor grabación de sonido
Gunfight at the O.K. Corral — Paramount Studio Sound Department, George Dutton, director de sonido
Les Girls — Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer Studio Sound Department, Dr. Wesley C. Miller, director de sonido
Pal Joey — Columbia Studio Sound Department, John P. Livadary, director de sonido
* Sayonara — Warner Bros. Studio Sound Department, George Groves, director de sonido
Witness for the Prosecution — Samuel Goldwyn Studio Sound Department, Gordon E. Sawyer, director de sonido

Mejores efectos especiales
* The Enemy Below — Audible Effects by Walter Rossi
The Spirit of St. Louis — Visual Effects by Louis Lichtenfield

Mejor cortometraje (acción real)
A Chairy Tale — Norman McLaren, productor
City of Gold — Tom Daly, productor
Foothold on Antarctica — James Carr, productor
Portugal — Ben Sharpsteen, productor
* The Wetback Hound — Larry Lansburgh, productor

Mejor cortometraje (animación)
* Birds Anonymous — Edward Selzer, productor
One Droopy Knight — William Hanna and Joseph Barbera, productores
Tabasco Road — Edward Selzer, productor
Trees and Jamaica Daddy — Stephen Bosustow, productor
The Truth about Mother Goose — Walt Disney, productor

Mejor largometraje documental
* Albert Schweitzer — Jerome Hill, productor
On the Bowery — Lionel Rogosin, productor
Torero! — Manuel Barbachano Ponce, productor

Premio honorífico
* Charles Brackett for outstanding service to the Academy.
* B.B. Kahane for distinguished service to the motion picture industry.
* Gilbert M. ('Broncho Billy') Anderson, motion picture pioneer, for his contributions to the development of motion pictures as entertainment.
* The Society of Motion Picture and Television Engineers for their contributions to the advancement of the motion picture industry.

Premio Humanitario Jean Hersholt
* Samuel Goldwyn