31st. Annual Academy Awards (Oscars 1958)

Mejor película del año
Auntie Mame — Warner Bros.
Cat on a Hot Tin Roof — Lawrence Weingarten, productor
The Defiant Ones — Stanley Kramer, productor
* Gigi — Arthur Freed, productor
Separate Tables — Harold Hecht, productor

Mejor película de lengua extranjera
Arms and the Man — West Germany
La Venganza — Spain
* My Uncle — France
The Road a Year Long — Yugoslavia
The Usual Unidentified Thieves — Italy

Mejor dirección
Cat on a Hot Tin Roof — Richard Brooks
The Defiant Ones — Stanley Kramer
* Gigi — Vincente Minnelli
I Want To Live! — Robert Wise
The Inn of the Sixth Happiness — Mark Robson

Mejor actriz
* Susan Hayward — I Want To Live! [Barbara Graham]
Deborah Kerr — Separate Tables [Sibyl Railton-Bell]
Shirley MacLaine — Some Came Running [Ginny Moorhead]
Rosalind Russell — Auntie Mame [Auntie Mame Dennis]
Elizabeth Taylor — Cat on a Hot Tin Roof [Maggie Pollitt]

Mejor actor
Tony Curtis — The Defiant Ones [John 'Joker' Jackson]
Paul Newman — Cat on a Hot Tin Roof [Brick Pollitt]
* David Niven — Separate Tables [Major Pollock]
Sidney Poitier — The Defiant Ones [Noah Cullen]
Spencer Tracy — The Old Man and the Sea [The Old Man]

Mejor actriz en un papel de reparto
Peggy Cass — Auntie Mame [Agnes Gooch]
* Wendy Hiller — Separate Tables [Pat Cooper]
Martha Hyer — Some Came Running [Gwen French]
Maureen Stapleton — Lonelyhearts [Fay Doyle]
Cara Williams — The Defiant Ones [The Woman]

Mejor actor en un papel de reparto
Theodore Bikel — The Defiant Ones [Sheriff Max Muller]
Lee J. Cobb — The Brothers Karamazov [Fyodor Karamazov]
* Burl Ives — The Big Country [Rufus Hannassey]
Arthur Kennedy — Some Came Running [Frank Hirsh]
Gig Young — Teacher's Pet [Dr. Hugo Pine]

Mejor guión escrito directamente para la pantalla
* The Defiant Ones — Nedrick Young, Harold Jacob Smith [NOTE: Upon request of his widow and upon recommendation of the Writers Branch Executive Committee, the Board of Governors voted on June 22, 1993, to restore the name of Nedrick Young to the nominations and award presented to Nathan E. Douglas (Mr. Young's pseudonym during the blacklisting period).]
The Goddess — Paddy Chayefsky
Houseboat — Melville Shavelson, Jack Rose
The Sheepman — Story by James Edward Grant; Screenplay by William Bowers, James Edward Grant
Teacher's Pet — Fay Kanin, Michael Kanin

Mejor guión basado en material de otro medio
Cat on a Hot Tin Roof — Richard Brooks, James Poe
* Gigi — Alan Jay Lerner
The Horse's Mouth — Alec Guinness
I Want To Live! — Nelson Gidding, Don Mankiewicz
Separate Tables — Terence Rattigan, John Gay

Mejor música (partitura de una película dramática o cómica)
The Big Country — Jerome Moross
* The Old Man and the Sea — Dimitri Tiomkin
Separate Tables — David Raksin
White Wilderness — Oliver Wallace
The Young Lions — Hugo Friedhofer

Mejor música (partitura de una película musical)
The Bolshoi Ballet — Yuri Faier, G. Rozhdestvensky
Damn Yankees — Ray Heindorf
* Gigi — Andre Previn
Mardi Gras — Lionel Newman
South Pacific — Alfred Newman, Ken Darby

Mejor música (canción)
‘Almost in Your Arms (Love Song from 'Houseboat')’ de Houseboat — Música y letras de Jay Livingston and Ray Evans
‘A Certain Smile’ de A Certain Smile — Música de Sammy Fain; letras de Paul Francis Webster
* ‘Gigi’ de Gigi — Música de Frederick Loewe; letras de Alan Jay Lerner
‘To Love and Be Loved’ de Some Came Running — Música de James Van Heusen; letras de Sammy Cahn
‘A Very Precious Love’ de Marjorie Morningstar — Música de Sammy Fain; letras de Paul Francis Webster

Mejor fotografía (blanco y negro)
* The Defiant Ones — Sam Leavitt
Desire under the Elms — Daniel L. Fapp
I Want To Live! — Lionel Lindon
Separate Tables — Charles Lang, Jr.
The Young Lions — Joe MacDonald

Mejor fotografía (color)
Auntie Mame — Harry Stradling, Sr.
Cat on a Hot Tin Roof — William Daniels
* Gigi — Joseph Ruttenberg
The Old Man and the Sea — James Wong Howe
South Pacific — Leon Shamroy

Mejor dirección artística
Auntie Mame — Dirección artística de Malcolm Bert; decorados de George James Hopkins
Bell, Book and Candle — Dirección artística de Cary Odell; decorados de Louis Diage
A Certain Smile — Dirección artística de Lyle R. Wheeler, John DeCuir; decorados de Walter M. Scott, Paul S. Fox
* Gigi — Dirección artística de William A. Horning, Preston Ames; decorados de Henry Grace, Keogh Gleason
Vertigo — Dirección artística de Hal Pereira, Henry Bumstead; decorados de Sam Comer, Frank McKelvy

Mejor diseño de vestuario
Bell, Book and Candle — Jean Louis
The Buccaneer — Ralph Jester, Edith Head, John Jensen
A Certain Smile — Charles LeMaire, Mary Wills
* Gigi — Cecil Beaton
Some Came Running — Walter Plunkett

Mejor montaje
Auntie Mame — William Ziegler
Cowboy — William A. Lyon, Al Clark
The Defiant Ones — Frederic Knudtson
* Gigi — Adrienne Fazan
I Want To Live! — William Hornbeck

Mejor sonido
I Want To Live! — Samuel Goldwyn Studio Sound Department, Gordon E. Sawyer, director de sonido
* South Pacific — Todd-AO Sound Department, Fred Hynes, director de sonido
A Time to Love and a Time to Die — Universal-International Studio Sound Department, Leslie I. Carey, director de sonido
Vertigo — Paramount Studio Sound Department, George Dutton, director de sonido
The Young Lions — 20th Century-Fox Studio Sound Department, Carl Faulkner, director de sonido

Mejores efectos especiales
* tom thumb — Visual Effects by Tom Howard
Torpedo Run — Visual Effects by A. Arnold Gillespie; Audible Effects by Harold Humbrock

Mejor cortometraje (acción real)
* Grand Canyon — Walt Disney, productor
Journey into Spring — Ian Ferguson, productor
The Kiss — John Patrick Hayes, productor
Snows of Aorangi — New Zealand Screen Board
T Is for Tumbleweed — James A. Lebenthal, productor

Mejor cortometraje (animación)
* Knighty Knight Bugs — John W. Burton, productor
Paul Bunyan — Walt Disney, productor
Sidney's Family Tree — William M. Weiss, productor

Mejor largometraje documental
Antarctic Crossing — James Carr, productor
The Hidden World — Robert Snyder, productor
Psychiatric Nursing — Nathan Zucker, productor
* White Wilderness — Ben Sharpsteen, productor

Mejor cortometraje documental
* Ama Girls — Ben Sharpsteen, productor
Employees Only — Kenneth G. Brown, productor
Journey into Spring — Ian Ferguson, productor
The Living Stone — Tom Daly, productor
Overture — Thorold Dickinson, productor

Premio honorífico
* Maurice Chevalier for his contributions to the world of entertainment for more than half a century.

Premio Conmemorativo Irving G. Thalberg
* Jack L. Warner